Wednesday, 9 February 2011

Select Committee established to look at purpose and value of E-Bacc

Purpose and Value of E-Bacc to be scrutinised.

I think that this speaks for itself. I would encourage anyone with a view on this to send a written submission, as asked for by the Education Committee (see notice below).  This is a great opportunity to be constructive, and to put the case for a better alternative.

Andrew Chubb

From: Education Committee <>
Date: 9 February 2011 14:47:15 GMT
Subject: New Inquiry: The English Baccalaureate

Education Committee
Select Committee Announcement
9 February 2011
For Immediate Release:
Call for evidence
The Education Committee is announcing a short inquiry into the English Baccalaureate (E-Bac). Written submissions are invited, addressing the following points:
·         the purpose and benefits of the E-Bac and its value as a measure of pupil and school performance;
·         the choice of subjects included in the E-Bac;
·         the implications of the E-Bac for pupils, schools and employers;
·         international comparators for the E-Bac.
The Committee asks for written submissions in accordance with the guidelines below by noon on Tuesday 8 March 2011.
Please note
A copy of the submission should be sent by e-mail to and marked “E-Bac inquiry”.  The Committee’s strong preference is for submissions in electronic form, although hard copy originals will be accepted. Submissions should be sent to Kathryn Smith, Committee Assistant, at:
Education Select Committee
House of Commons
7 Millbank
Each submission should:
  • be no more than 3,000 words in length;
  • have numbered paragraphs; and
  • (if in electronic form) be in Word format or a rich text format with as little use of colour or logos as possible.
For Data Protection purposes, it would be helpful if individuals submitting written evidence send their contact details separately in a covering letter. You should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.
Please supply a postal address so that a copy of the Committee’s report can be sent to you upon publication.
A guide for written submissions to Select Committees may be found on the parliamentary website at:
Please also note that:
  • Memoranda submitted must be kept confidential until published by the Committee, unless publication by the person or organisation submitting it is specifically authorised.
  • Once submitted, evidence is the property of the Committee. The Committee normally, although not always, chooses to make public the written evidence it receives, by publishing it on the internet (where it will be searchable), by printing it or by making it available through the Parliamentary Archives.  If there is any information you believe to be sensitive you should highlight it and explain what harm you believe would result from its disclosure. The Committee will take this into account in deciding whether to publish or further disclose the evidence. 
  • The Committee does not normally investigate individual cases.
Committee Membership is as follows: 
Mr Graham Stuart (Chair), Conservative, Beverley and Holderness
Neil Carmichael, Conservative, Stroud
Nic Dakin, Labour, Scunthorpe
Bill Esterson, Labour, Sefton Central
Pat Glass, Labour, North West Durham
Damian Hinds, Conservative, East Hampshire
Charlotte Leslie, Conservative, Bristol North West
Ian Mearns, Labour, Gateshead
Tessa Munt, Liberal Democrat, Wells
Lisa Nandy, Labour, Wigan
Craig Whittaker, Conservative, Calder Valley
Specific Committee Information / 020 7219 6181
Media Information: Rebecca Jones, / 020 7219 5693
Watch committees and parliamentary debates online 
Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on

No comments:

Post a Comment